Follow:

About

Hi. My name’s Jenny. I live in the north of Manchester with my wonderful partner and our animal friends.

I like…

British horror films from the 1950s/60s, trashy crime documentaries and podcasts, the history of polar exploration, forks with LONG prongs, black coffee, red wine, green olives, and line drying my washing.

Nick Cave, Sufjan Stevens, Leonard Cohen, Dolly Parton, Lorde, Midlake, Father John Misty, Josh T Pearson, John Grant, and loads of miserable 90s indie 🎵🎵

When time allows, I enjoy embroidery and other needlecrafts.

I love the moon. I’m rediscovering/reevaluating my relationship with/to all the woo shit I found such solace in as a young person twenty years ago. Let me take my journey ‘k. 🔮

I don’t like…

Sexism, racism, homophobia, transphobia, ableism, ageism, bullying or oppression. I believe that black lives matter. I believe in riots, not diets. I support sex workers. I am pro-choice.

I am passionate about body positivity and fat positivity, and pro-intersectional, diverse and inclusive veganism. (Check out my Big Fat Vegan Zine project.)

I write about…

  • Vegan and ethical lifestyle.
  • Mental health (I have been treated for depression for 21 years now).
  • Chronic and invisible illness (I was diagnosed with M.E. in late 2016).
  • Whatever else inspires me.

You might see my pooch, Vulpe, make an appearance every now and then. She is a Romanian rescue with quite a lot of emotional problems. I love her truly madly deeply.

What I’m doing lately…

As of July 2018 I am DONE with the second year of my part-time Master’s degree in Anthrozoology, the interdisciplinary study of humans and animals. In my second year, I completed a short research project that explored the supposed benefits of animal-assisted interventions for students in higher education (particularly as a well-being activity). Then I wrote about primate science and queer theory. And finally I wrote about barriers to compassionate conservation. Theoretically my dissertation is next but I am choosing not to think about that until at least mid August!

I lost my Mum suddenly in September 2017. I started a new project exploring mothers/daughters grief and loss: oh, mother.

I have a day job too. I am a senior Faculty Officer in a University; I deal with complaints and discipline. I’ve worked in the sector for 10 years but I dream, dream, dream of being able to make my living in a slower, more peaceful and fulfilling way.